Laura Finaldi in Jordan, 2012

Just another WordPress.com site

Getting salty

with one comment

Yesterday, we spent the day in Salt City, one of the oldest cities in Jordan. It was very hilly and lacked the cosmopolitan feel of Amman. But it was lovely. We walked through an outdoor market, danced to traditional music in traditional garb, and had a great lunch, arjelah and all (I’ve learned that shi-sha is actually the Egyptian word for hookah. Arjelah is the correct Jordanian way to say it).

My favorite part of the trip was our stop at St. George’s church, Jordan’s oldest church. It’s a Greek Orthodox church. I was raised Catholic, but it was still a nice feeling to be inside such a beautiful Christian structure. There was something familiar about it. Sitting there in the pews, I was so comfortable and at peace.

I remember learning about paintings like this in an Art History class I took during my first semester of college. I wish I had something interesting to say about them.

This is a country whose culture is entirely based on a religion. These people have such faith in their god that in even this day and age, so many women continue to wear the hijab, and so many families observe Fridays as the holy day. The “call to prayer,” a broadcasted Islamic prayer, plays throughout speakers in the city five times a day. As someone who spent her whole life frustrated with her given religion, it’s just so unreal to me. But at the same time, it’s so cool. I wish I could believe in something like that.

We saw the tomb of Elijah, too. I remember learning about Elijah in Sunday school when I was younger, and now there I was as an adult, standing right at the foot of his tomb. That shit cray.

The tomb of Elijah! I’m not sure if he’s in there or not. I don’t think so.

Song I was listening to through my headphones today and everyone could hear it and told me to turn it down longest run-on sentence ever ok bye:

Written by laurafinaldi

May 20, 2012 at 2:27 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. things are about to get weirdddd

    GINAtheLATINA

    May 23, 2012 at 9:14 pm


Leave a Reply

