Laura Finaldi in Jordan, 2012

Just another WordPress.com site

We’re here!

leave a comment »

I’ve been in Jordan for a good chunk of time now. I have no idea how much time, because my computer clock is still on Boston time. Here in Jordan, it’s 11:30 a.m. on Saturday, May 12. I pushed through until midnight (Jordanian time) last night, so other than being pretty jet-lagged, I’m already mostly okay with the time change.

Anyway, I’m in the Middle East! The flights were terrible, the transportation was god awful and the British (where we had our layover) didn’t seem to like me very much, but I survived.

What is it like, you ask? Well, it’s not as strikingly different as you might imagine. I keep having a-ha moments where I remember I’m in the Middle East. It’s not like the first time I entered Harry Potter World, where from the minute I caught my first glance of the Hogwarts express until my last Chocolate Frog bite, I was totally caught up in the fact that I was in Harry Potter World. It’s not that kind of shock or wow-factor. It’s just another part of the world.

That’s not to say it’s the same as the US. Everyone speaks Arabic and looks different than us. We are disgustingly, obviously American, but everyone is very friendly and very nice about it. During the ride from the airport to the hotel, we drove through what seemed to be the Jordanian equivalent of a countryside. I say equivalent because there wasn’t a patch of grass in sight. Instead, there was lots of wide open space with random old buildings here and there. We exchanged glances with the people in the cars next to us. Most of them smiled and waved. There was one pickup truck where two boys who couldn’t have been older than 7 or 8 years old sat on top of a pile of rugs in the back and waved enthusiastically at us. They were the cutest.

We’re heading to orientation today from 12-5 at the school where we’ll be taking classes. Carlene has already given us the talk about story ideas and appropriate behavior. I’m worried about finding good stories that will be relevant to the people who live here. But I think it will be okay. Peace out for now.

Written by laurafinaldi

May 12, 2012 at 8:41 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

