Laura Finaldi in Jordan, 2012

Just another WordPress.com site

No Sleep Till Jordan

leave a comment »

What up, world?? Welcome to my blog, where you’ll get to read about every single adventure I’ll have in Amman, Jordan over the next month or so.

The title of this post is part tribute to one of my favorite bands, part true statement about my sentiment going into what is sure to be the trip of a lifetime. Just days after the Beastie Boys were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Adam Yauch, aka “MCA,” lost his battle with cancer.

When you listen to the Beastie Boys, they sound young and rebellious – it’s a fun release from everyday life that’s not to be taken too seriously. It’s so weird to think of a member of this forever young group suffering from anything but the after effects of being raised by strict parents or maybe too many detentions. But MCA died of cancer.

Anyway, I thought I’d pay tribute to him and the rest of the beasties by titling my first post “No Sleep Till Jordan” after their song “No Sleep Till Brooklyn,” which is one of the most glorious mash-ups of drum beats, yelling and rapping I’ve ever heard in my life.

Now, let’s talk about that trip of a lifetime (spoiler alert: it’s not to Brooklyn). I’m going to Jordan, a Middle Eastern country I know little to nothing about.

Every time I tell people I’m going to Jordan, they ask me what I’m going to be doing and I never know what to say. I know I’ll be studying journalism and Middle East culture. I know I’m going to be in a vibrant, bustling city where the culture is awesome and so different from the one I’m used to. I know I have to cover up all parts of my body at all times to remain socially acceptable (that means no shorts, or even short-sleeved shirts in a desert climate, think about THAT). I know I should probably take out my lip ring and dye my hair so it’s all one color and no longer ombre.

People don’t do this in the Middle East, I’m sure.

But that’s pretty much all I know.

I’m not too worried about it though. I’ve always wanted to travel, and I’m super open to new people and experiences.

I haven’t done a ton of traveling so far in my life. I went on a trip to Japan once when I was 16 with People to People Student Ambassador programs. While I was there, I saw the Imperial Palace in Tokyo, climbed Mount Fuji, steamed my face in a hot springs bath, visited Peace Memorial Park in Hiroshima and tripped the light fantastic in the old capital city of Kyoto. It was awesome and affirmed to me that I really need to do some more traveling if my life’s ever going to amount to anything.

I’ve also been to the Bahamas a number of times, Puerto Rico once and to 20 something states in the US, including the entire far east coast. My most recent trip abroad was on a spring break trip to the Bahamas, which was a whole different kind of cultural, if you know what I mean.

Hahaha I’m hilarious.

All kidding aside, traveling is something I’ve always wanted to do, so I can’t wait to learn all about a new culture, meet the people who make it what it is, try out the local cuisine and stand in structures so old I can’t even comprehend what the people who built them must have been like.

I’m probably going to read back on this post in a week and want to delete it because of what an ignorant jerk I sound like. That’s okay. This whole thing is all about learning anyway.

That’s enough for today. I’m required to blog almost every day for this trip, so this isn’t going to be one of those blogs that gets updated one every three months, because if it is, I’ll fail my class.

With that, I’ll leave you with the song of the day.

Written by laurafinaldi

April 18, 2012 at 3:47 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

